Biology: Faculty Research

Name

 

Emphasis

 

Pre-Requisites

 

Contact

Marta Adair   Biological Science Education    None listed.   marta_adair@byu.edu
801-422-8336
2121 LSB
Byron Adams   Evolution of Virulence, Host-Pathogen Co-Evolution, Soil Ecology, Molecular Systematics and Evolution
  Motivated by a love of science and discovery; creative and passionate about lab work. Biology Majors preferred.
  bjadams@byu.edu
801-422-3132
4127  LSB
Mark Belk   Population Ecology, Evolutionary Ecology of Fishes    None listed.
  mark_belk@byu.edu 
801-422-4154
4023  LSB
Seth Bybee
  Entomology, Evolutionary Biology, Systematics and Bioinformatics.
  None listed.
  seth.bybee@gmail.com
801-422-5363
4057  LSB
Shawn Clark   Museum Curation and Insect Systematics
  None listed.
 

shawn_clark@byu.edu, 422-3815
3101E  MLBM

Rick
Gill
  Global change ecology &  Plant physiology ecology, plant/soil interactions   General Ecology (Sophomores and Juniors preferred).   rgill@byu.edu
801-422-3856
4144  LSB
Jamie
Jensen
  Biological Science Education, Development of Scientific Reasoning Skills   Introductory Biology (Bio 130, PDBio 120
or Bio100)
  jamie.jensen@byu.edu
801-422-6896
4059  LSB
Jerry
Johnson
  Evolutionary Ecology, Speciation, Life History Evolution, Phylogeography, Behavioral Ecology    DNA-based: Chem 105; PDBio 120, 220; Speciation/Life History: PDBio 120, Bio 220 (Sophomore and Juniors preferred)    jerry_johnson@byu.edu 
801-422-4502
4033  LSB
Leigh
Johnson
  Plant Systematics, Evolution    Strong interest in plant biology    leigh_johnson@byu.edu
801-422-5241
4054 LSB
Robert Johnson
  Plant systematics, Floristics, Plant-insect interactions
  Interest in botany
 

robert_johnson@byu.edu

801-422-7094
388 MLBM
John
Kauwe
  Genetics of Human Disease / Bioinformatics Emphasis   Bio130 (Sophomores in Bioinformatics, Biology and Neuroscience Majors are preferred).   kauwe@byu.edu
801-422-2993
4146  LSB
Roger Koide
  Physiological and Community Ecology of plants and fungi, egricultural ecology, biochar, soil carb sequestration
  General Ecology (Sophomores and Juniors preferred).
 

rogerkoide@byu.edu

801-422-6650
4031  LSB
Nate Lewis
  Systems biology, synthetic biology, and bioinformatics applied to cancer and the evolution of biochemistry.
  None   nel_res@byu.edu
Riley
Nelson
  Insect Biodiversity, Freshwater Ecology, Biomonitoring, Systematics, Popularization of Science, Science Education, and Environmental Stewardship
  Intro Bio (Bio 130, PDBio120 or Bio 100 class), Bio 220; Bio 441 or 541 while in the lab   rileynelson@byu.edu
801-422-1345
2119  LSB
Steven
Peck
  Theoretical Ecology, Philosophy of Science, Movement Ecology   None Listed   steven_peck@byu.edu
801-422-4145
4145  LSB
Stephen Piccolo    Bioinformatics, genomics, human disease (especially cancers), "big data" analysis   BIO 165 and BIO 130    stephen_piccolo@byu.edu
801-422-7116
4056 LSB
   Aquatic Ecology, Invasion Biology, Restoration, and Conservation
   Bio 350 (recommended)    russell_rader@byu.edu
801-422-9159
4025  LSB
Beverly
Roeder
  Animal Disease Physiology, Stable Isotope Biology    Bio 130 or PDBio 120, Bio 220    beverly_roeder@byu.edu
801-422-6873
2120  LSB
Duke
Rogers
  Mammalian Systematics, Evolution    Chem 105; Bio 130 or  PDBio 120, Bio 220    duke_rogers@byu.edu
801-422-5898
4143  LSB
Dennis Shiozawa   Freshwater Ecology, Phylogeography of aquatic organisms
in western North America
  None Listed   dennis_shiozawa@byu.edu
801-422-4972
4101  LSB
Jack
Sites
  Herpetology, Conservation and Evolutionary Biology,
Phylogeography, Systematics 
  All begin as volunteers.
(Sophomores or Juniors preferred)
  jack_sites@byu.edu
801-422-2279
4029  LSB
Larry
St. Clair
  Lichenology - Lichen Ecology and Systematics    None Listed   larry_stclair@byu.edu
801-422-6211
2103C  MLBM
Clinton
Whipple
  Evolution and genetics of plant development    None Listed
(Sophomores or Juniors preferred)
  whipple@byu.edu
801-422-9293
4027  LSB
Michael Whiting   Entomology, Bioinformatics Evolution, Systematics    All students begin as volunteers (Sophomores or Juniors preferred)   michael_whiting@byu.edu
801-422-5651
4142  LSB
Edward
Wilcox
  DNA Sequencing, Human Molecular Genetics    MMBio 240, MMBio 241, Chem 107, Possibly Chem 223, 353, or 354    edward_wilcox@byu.edu
801-422-3647
4046A  LSB