Student Clubs

Bioinformatics Research Group

Club Purpose:

To provide an organized method of research and learning such that students are able

to engage in service, collaboration, leadership, and development of necessary skills for

pursuing professional careers as researchers.

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. John Kauwe, Ph.D.

Advisor Email:

kauwe@byu.edu

 Web Page:
 http://bioinformatics.byu.edu/BioinformaticsResearchGroup/About.aspx 

 


BYU Public Health Association  (BPHA)

Club                           Purpose:                        

To prepare students to be public health professionals who promote health and prevent

diseases and injuries in populations.

Faculty Advisor:

Stephanie Fugal

Advisor Email:

stephanie_fugal@byu.edu   



Clinical Lab Science Club (CLS)

Club Purpose:                

To unite past, current, and future CLS students in fostering a rich and informed learning  environment fit for future careers and education.

Faculty Advisor:

Bill Zundel

Advisor Email:

bill_zundel@byu.edu

Club President:

Ashlee Rutter 

 


Environmental Science Club

Club Purpose:                    

To prepare students for graduate research and career opportunities in environmental science.

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Richard Terry
Dr. Bryan Hopkins

Advisor Email:                 

richard_terry@byu.edu
hopkins@byu.edu


Food Science Club

Club Purpose:

To provide social interaction between students and assist them in networking with other academic institutions and industry associations

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Michelle Llyod

Advisor Email:

michelle_lloyd@byu.edu

 


Genetics & Biotechnology Club

Club Purpose:

To help students stay on top of developments in genetics & biotechnology

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Josh Udall

Advisor Email:

jaudall@byu.edu

 Facebook Page:
 http://www.facebook.com/groups/byugenbio/

 


Landscape Management Club

Club Purpose:

To maximize career preparation in landscape horticulture

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Phil Allen

Dr. Greg Jolley

Advisor Email:

greg_jolley@byu.edu

 


Microbiology Club

Club Purpose:               

 To promote an understanding of the importance of microbiology and molecular biology.

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. William McCleary

Advisor Email:

bill_mccleary@byu.edu



Pre-Vet Club

Club Purpose:

Mechanism for pre-vet med students to meet regularly and perform community service

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Beverly Roeder

Advisor Email:

beverly_roeder@byu.edu

 


Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy Club (PT/OT)

Club Purpose:

BYU PT/OT Club's purpose is to provide information and resources necessary to prepare Pre-Physical and Occupational Therapy students to be the most competitive applicant for acceptance into graduate school.

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Wayne Johnson

Advisor Email:

wayne_johnson@byu.edu

Club President:

Josh Johnson 
  The club is open to all students seeking acceptance into graduate school and a career in PT/OT, as well as those interested in learning more about Physical and Occupational Therapy. We offer possible job/shadowing opportunities, service activities, graduate school tips and information as well as help you stay updated on current events. The Club typically holds meetings bi-weekly on Wednesdays, hosting guest speakers ranging from PT/OT graduate students to graduate school deans of admissions and Physical and Occupational Therapists.  Club dues are $15 which already includes a club t-shirt.

Student Dietetic Association

Club Purpose:

To foster collegiality, leadership skills, and community service in the dietetic students

Faculty Advisor:

Ana Mitchell

Julie Duncan

Advisor Email:

ana_mitchell@byu.edu

julie_duncan@byu.edu

 


Wildlife and Range Club

Club Purpose:

To expose students to the wildlife & wild land profession and professionals and give 

them opportunity to do service in the profession.

Faculty Advisor:

Dr. Steve Petersen

Dr. Tom Smith

Advisor Email:

steven_petersen@byu.edu

tom_smith@byu.edu