Biology: Faculty Research

Name

 

Emphasis

 

Pre-Requisites

 

Contact

Byron
Adams
  Evolution of Virulence, Host-Pathogen Co-Evolution, Soil Ecology, Molecular Systematics and Evolution
  Motivated by a love of science and discovery; creative and passionate about lab work. Preference will be given to biology majors.
  bjadams@byu.edu
801-422-3132
4127  LSB
Mark
Belk
  Life History Evolution, Conservation of Fishes.     Preference will be given to biology majors.
  mark_belk@byu.edu 
801-422-4154
4023  LSB
Seth
Bybee

  Entomology, Evolutionary Biology, Systematics and Bioinformatics.
  Preference will be given to majors in the biology department.   seth.bybee@gmail.com
801-422-5363
4057  LSB
Shawn
Clark
  Museum Curation and Insect Systematics
  Preference will be given to biology majors.
 

shawn_clark@byu.edu, 422-3815
3101E  MLBM

Rick
Gill
  Global Change Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography.    General Ecology (Sophomores and Juniors preferred). Preference will be given to biology majors.   rgill@byu.edu
801-422-3856
4144  LSB
Blaine
Griffen
   Behavioral Ecology, physiological ecology, population and community ecology, marine biology, conservation biology, extinction.     Bio 220. Sophomores and Juniors are preferred. Preference given to biology majors.     blaine_griffen@byu.edu
2121 LSB
Jamie
Jensen
  Biology Education Research; Evolution Acceptance.    Introductory Biology (Bio 130, PDBio 120 or Bio 100). Preference will be given to biology majors.   jamie.jensen@byu.edu
801-422-6896
4059  LSB
Jerry
Johnson
  Evolutionary Ecology, Speciation, Life History Evolution, Phylogeography, Behavioral Ecology    DNA-based: Chem 105; PDBio 120, 220; Speciation/Life History: PDBio 120, Bio 220 (Sophomore and Juniors preferred). Preference will be given to biology majors.    jerry_johnson@byu.edu 
801-422-4502
4033  LSB
Leigh
Johnson
  Plant Systematics, Taxonomy & Species Delimitation, Evolution, Population Genetics.   Strong interest in plant biology. Preference will be given to biology majors.    leigh_johnson@byu.edu
801-422-5241
4054 LSB
Robert Johnson
  Plant systematics, Floristics, Plant-insect interactions
  Interest in botany. Preference will be given to biology majors.
 

robert_johnson@byu.edu
801-422-7094
388 MLBM

John
Kauwe
  Genetics of Human Disease / Bioinformatics Emphasis   Bio 130 (Sophomores in Bioinformatics, Biology are preferred).    kauwe@byu.edu
801-422-2993
4146  LSB
Roger
Koide

  Physiological and Community Ecology of Plants and their symbiotic Fungia and Bacteria in Natural and Agricultural Ecosystems; Gut microbiome; Agricultural Ecology; Global Change Biology
  General Ecology (Sophmores and Juniors preferred). Preference will be given to Biology majors.
 

rogerkoide@byu.edu
801-422-6650
4031  LSB

Steve
Leavitt
   Symbiosis, Evolution, Systematics, Lichens, Holobionts, Bio-monitoring, Diversity in arid or extreme habitats.    Interest in plant biology/mycology. Preference given to biology majors.    steve_leavitt@byu.edu
801-422-4879
4143 LSB
Riley
Nelson
  Insect Biodiversity, Freshwater Ecology, Biomonitoring, Systematics, Popularization of Science, Science Education, and Environmental Stewardship
  Intro Bio (Bio 130, PDBio120 or Bio 100 class), Bio 220; Bio 441 or 541 while in the lab. Preference will be given to biology majors.   rileynelson@byu.edu
801-422-1345
2119  LSB
Steven
Peck
  Theoretical Ecology, Philosophy of Science, Movement Ecology   Preference will be given to Biology majors.   steven_peck@byu.edu
801-422-4145
4145  LSB
Stephen Piccolo   Bioinformatics, genomics, human disease (especially cancer), data science
  Bio 165 and Bio 130 (preferred). Preference will be given to biology majors.   stephen_piccolo@byu.edu
801-422-7116
4056 LSB
   Aquatic Ecology, Invasion Biology, Restoration, and Conservation
  Bio 350 (recommended). Preference will be given to biology majors.    russell_rader@byu.edu
801-422-9159
4025  LSB
Beverly
Roeder
  Animal Disease Physiology, Stable Isotope Biology    Bio 130 or PDBio 120, Bio 220. Preference will be given to biology majors.   beverly_roeder@byu.edu
801-422-6873
2120  LSB
Duke
Rogers
  Mammalian Systematics, Evolution    Chem 105; Bio 130 or  PDBio 120, Bio 220. Preference will be given to biology majors.   duke_rogers@byu.edu
801-422-5898
4143  LSB
Dennis Shiozawa   Freshwater Ecology, Phylogeography of aquatic organisms
in western North America
  Preference will be given to biology majors.
  dennis_shiozawa@byu.edu
801-422-4972
4101  LSB
Jack
Sites
  Herpetology, Conservation and Evolutionary Biology,
Phylogeography, Systematics 
  All begin as volunteers. Preference will be given to sophomores, juniors, and biology majors.   jack_sites@byu.edu
801-422-2279
4029  LSB
Clinton
Whipple
  Evolution and genetics of plant development    Preference will be given to sophomores, juniors, and biology majors.
  whipple@byu.edu
801-422-9293
4027  LSB
Michael Whiting   Entomology, Bioinformatics Evolution, Systematics    All students begin as volunteers. Preference will be given to sophomores, juniors, and biology majors.   michael_whiting@byu.edu
801-422-5651
4142  LSB