NDFS: Faculty Research

Name

Emphasis

 

Pre-Requisites

 

Contact

Sarah G. Bellini   Identifying and assessing malnutrition, nutrition education, pediatric nutrition, and clinical nutrition management.
  Dietetics or Nutritional Science Major   sarah_bellini@byu.edu
801-422-0015
S-219 ESC
Merrill J. Christensen   Nutrition Regulation of Gene Expression, Diet and Cancer.   Chem 105, 106, 107; MMBio 240   merrill_christensen@byu.edu
801-422-5255
235-S ESC
Michael L. Dunn   Micronutrient Fortification and Stability. New food product development. 
  Chem 105, 106, 107   michael_dunn@byu.edu
801-422-6670
S129 ESC
Susan Fullmer   Clinical Nutrition; Effect of Diet and Exercise on Energy Expenditure & Bone Density.   Dietetics or Nutritional Science Major   susan_fullmer@byu.edu
801-422-3349
227-S ESC
Chad Hancock   Energy Metabolism, muscle function, mitochondira function.   None Listed.   chad_hancock@byu.edu
801-422-7588
245-S ESC
Laura Jefferies   Sensory Analysis & Pilot Plant.   Preference given to Food Sci students   laura_jefferies@byu.edu
801-422-9290
133-S ESC
Jason Kenealey   Identify natural compounds with chemotherapeutic activity, elucidate the molecular mechanism of these compounds,
and determine the structural elements in the molecule that confer the anti-cancer activity.
  None Listed.   jason_kenealey@byu.edu
801-422-6671
127-S ESC 
Emily Patten    Dietetics management, leadership, and education.     Dietetics Major.    emily_patten@byu.edu
801-422-6672
S-231 ESC
Oscar A. Pike   Food shelf-life assessment and long term storage preservation.   NChem 105, 106, 107; NDFS 250,251
  oscar_pike@byu.edu
801-422-6675
135-S ESC
Rickelle Richards   Community nutrtion, with special interest in low-income populations.   None Listed.   rickelle_richards@byu.edu
801-422-6855
233-S ESC
Frost M. Steele   Long-Term Food Storage & Preservation.   Chem 105; NDFS 250; MMBio 221/222   frost_steele@byu.edu
801-422-6784
S-131 ESC
Nathan Stokes   School Nutrition Programs (farm to school and school breakfast) and foodservice management.     Preference given to dietetic, food science and nutritional science students.    nathan_stokes@byu.edu
801-422-6676
S-235 ESC
Jeffery Tessem   Delineating the molecular pathways that increase beta cell proliferation, enhance glucose stimulated insulin secretion, and protect against beta cell death.   None Listed.   jeffery_tessem@byu.edu
801-422-9082
243-S ESC