PDBio: Faculty Research


Name


Research Emphasis


Prerequisites


Contact

Jonathan Alder   Telomere biology in human health and disease   None required, but molecular biology and genetics recommended   jonathan_alder@byu.edu, 801-422-5714,
3015 LSB
Juan Arroyo
The molecular signaling of trophoblast cells during apoptosis, hypoxia and the regulation of cell invasion during pregnancies complicated with Intrauterine Growth Restriction, Preterm Delivery and Preeclampsia.
None Listed
Send Message

801-422-3221
3052  LSB

Jeff Barrow
Mechanisms that underlie outgrowth and patterning of the embryonic limb. Approaches to alter the chicken genome. 
PDBIO 120
jeff_barrow@byu.edu
801-422-9308
3036  LSB
Benjamin Bikman
Molecular mechanisms associated with insulin resistance and related states of altered metabolic function, including diabetes and obesity. 
None Listed
benjamin_bikman@byu.edu
801-422-1798
3017  LSB
David Busath

Blocking influenza, inflammation, and chronic pain. 
Chem 105, 106, 351; PDBio 120; Phscs 105-108. Contact to discuss useful courses.
david_busath@byu.edu
801-422-8753
3019  LSB
Jeffrey Edwards
Learning and Memory mechanisms. Addiction/reward pathways. Synaptic Plasticity. 
None required, but Chem 105, PDBIO 305/363/ or Neuro 205 are recommended. 
jeffrey_edwards@byu.edu
801-422-8080
3046 LSB
Jason Hansen   Understanding the mechanisms of oxidative-induced birth defects through various in vivo and in vitro models. Developing interventions that will protect the developing embryo from oxidative insults   None Listed.   jason_hansen@byu.edu
801-422-2158 
3047 LSB
Marc Hansen
Discovery and Development of novel drug therapeutics. 
Contact to discuss
marchansen@byu.edu
801-422-4998
3067 LSB
Jonathon Hill   Gene regulation driving heart formation in the developing embryo. Development and use of computational methods to study gene regulation. Identification of genes underlying congenital heart defects.   Contact to discuss; Bioinformatics, Molecular Biology and Developmental Biology projects available. Assignment to a project will depend on student interest and experience.    jhill@byu.edu
8014228970
3018 LSB
David Kooyman

Cell Biology. 
Chem 105, 106; PDbio 120, MMbio240, PWS 340
david_kooyman@byu.edu
801-422-6399
3051  LSB
Dario Mizrachi   Membrane proteins, paracellular transport and barriology    None   dario_mizrachi@byu.edu
801-422-0360
2027 LSB
Paul Reynolds
Members of the Cell and Developmental Biology Subgroup focus on the molecular and cellular interactions that contribute to embryonic development and the most common and debilitating disease conditions.  Our lab specifically focuses on the developmental role of autocrine/paracrine signaling in the lung during branching morphogenesis, pulmonary remodeling induced by interactions between mesenchymal/epithelial compartments, and mechanisms of pulmonary injury and disease related to environmental tobacco or oxidative stress.

(required) MMBio 240, 241; (recommended) PDBio 325; PDBio 360

paul_reynolds@byu.edu
(801) 422-1933
3054  LSB
Michael Stark
Development of the nervous system
(required) MMBio 240, 241; (recommended) PDBio 360; PWS 225
michael_stark@byu.edu
801-422-9498
3066  LSB
Sterling Sudweeks
Structure and Function of Ligand-Gated Ion Channels
None Listed
sterling_sudweeks@byu.edu
801-422-8752
3045  LSB
Arminda Suli
Mechanisms that oversee proper development and formation of neural circuits. Development and innervation of mechanosensory hair cells of the lateral line system.
None Listed.

Email:Send Message

3048  LSB
(801) 422-2646

David Thomson
Skeletal Muscle dysfunction in old-age and insulin resistance. 

None Listed.
david_thomson@byu.edu
801-422-8709
3013  LSB
Jonathan Wisco
Clinical anatomy and imaging, including the following: Alzheimer’s disease imaging biomarkers based on oxidative stress and inflammation pathophysiology; larynx neuromusculoskeletal anatomy and physiology; musculoskeletal surgical anatomy; anatomical sciences education. 


PDBio 220
jjwisco@byu.edu

2028  LSB
(801) 422-2402

Dixon Woodbury
Molecular Physiology and Neuroscience focusing on Membrane Biophysics and Neuronal Exocytosis (the release of neurotransmitters that are altered by alcohol, tetanus, and Botox)
(Required or Concurrent) Chem 105/106, PDBio 120, (recommended) MMBio 240/241, Physc 105

http://woodburylab.byu.edu
dixon_woodbury@byu.edu
801-422-7562
4005  LSB