PDBio: Faculty Research


Name


Research Emphasis


Prerequisites


Contact

Jonathan Alder   Telomere biology in human health and disease   None required, but molecular biology and genetics recommended   jonathan_alder@byu.edu, 801-422-5714, 3015 LSB
Juan Arroyo
The molecular signaling of trophoblast cells during apoptosis, hypoxia and the regulation of cell invasion during pregnancies complicated with Intrauterine Growth Restriction, Preterm Delivery and Preeclampsia.
None Listed
Send Message

801-422-3221
3052  LSB

Jeff Barrow
Examining the role that cell polarity plays in limb outgrowth, neural tube closure, and angiogenesis during vertebrate development
Contact to discuss;  PDBio 305/362 or Neuro 205 useful
jeff_barrow@byu.edu
801-422-9308
3036  LSB
Benjamin Bikman
Molecular mechanisms associated with obesity and metabolic diseases, lipid and inflammation-induced insulin resistance
None Listed
benjamin_bikman@byu.edu
801-422-1798
3017  LSB
Michael Brown
Development of the Nervous System & its Regeneration After Injury
No Active Lab; contact for possible experiences
michael_brown@byu.edu
801-422-5859
2028  LSB
David Busath

Molecular Biophysics of Membrane Structure and Function
Chem 105, 106, 351; PDBio 120; Phscs 105-108. Contact to discuss useful courses.
david_busath@byu.edu
801-422-8753
3019  LSB
Jeffrey Edwards
Learning and Memory; Neurophysiology
Chem 105; PDBio 305/362 or Neuro 205 are very helpful
jeffrey_edwards@byu.edu
801-422-8080
3046 LSB
Jason Hansen   Understanding the mechanisms of oxidative-induced birth defects through various in vivo and in vitro models. Developing interventions that will protect the developing embryo from oxidative insults   None Listed.   jason_hansen@byu.edu
801-422-2158 
3047 LSB
Marc Hansen
Cell Adhesion in Cancer Metastasis
Contact to discuss
marchansen@byu.edu
801-422-4998
3067 LSB
Jonathon Hill   Gene regulation driving heart formation in the developing embryo. Development and use of computational methods to study gene regulation. Identification of genes underlying congenital heart defects.   Contact to discuss; Bioinformatics, Molecular Biology and Developmental Biology projects available. Assignment to a project will depend on student interest and experience.    jhill@byu.edu
8014228970
3018 LSB
Allan Judd
Immune System Regulation of Adrenal Function
Chem 105; PDBio 120
allan_judd@byu.edu
801-422-3479
2025  LSB
David Kooyman

Cell Biology
Chem 105, 106; PDbio 120, MMbio240, PWS 340
david_kooyman@byu.edu
801-422-6399
3051  LSB
Paul Reynolds
Members of the Cell and Developmental Biology Subgroup focus on the molecular and cellular interactions that contribute to embryonic development and the most common and debilitating disease conditions.  Our lab specifically focuses on the developmental role of autocrine/paracrine signaling in the lung during branching morphogenesis, pulmonary remodeling induced by interactions between mesenchymal/epithelial compartments, and mechanisms of pulmonary injury and disease related to environmental tobacco or oxidative stress.

(required) MMBio 240, 241; (recommended) PDBio 325; PDBio 360

paul_reynolds@byu.edu
(801) 422-1933
3054  LSB
Michael Stark
Development of the nervous system
(required) MMBio 240, 241; (recommended) PDBio 360; PWS 225
michael_stark@byu.edu
801-422-9498
3066  LSB
Sterling Sudweeks
Structure and Function of Ligand-Gated Ion Channels
None Listed
sterling_sudweeks@byu.edu
801-422-8752
3045  LSB
Arminda Suli
Mechanisms that oversee proper development and formation of neural circuits. Development and innervation of mechanosensory hair cells of the lateral line system.
None Listed.

Email:Send Message

3048  LSB
(801) 422-2646

David Thomson
Control of skeletal muscle growth and repair through molecular signaling pathways

None Listed.
david_thomson@byu.edu
801-422-8709
3013  LSB
Jonathan Wisco
Clinical anatomy and imaging, including the following: Alzheimer’s disease imaging biomarkers based on oxidative stress and inflammation pathophysiology; larynx neuromusculoskeletal anatomy and physiology; musculoskeletal surgical anatomy; anatomical sciences pedagogy facilitating learning three-dimensional anatomy and acquiring confidence in physical exam skills; Anatomy Academy service-learning.


PDBio 220
jjwisco@byu.edu

2028  LSB
(801) 422-2402

Dixon Woodbury
Cellular and Molecular Physiology Focusing on Membrane Biophysics & Exocytosis (blocked by tetanus and Botox)
Project A: (required) Chem 105/106, PDBio 120, (recommended) MMBio 240/241; PDBio 360; Project B: (required) Chem 105/106, PDBio 120, Math 119, Physc 105/106; (recommended) MMBio 241, PDBio 360

http://woodburylab.byu.edu
dixon_woodbury@byu.edu
801-422-7562
4005  LSB