Skip to main content
Michael Brown

Mike Brown

Department Chair-Teaching Professor
Cell Biology and Physiology, Dean's Office

4005B LSB - Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602


  • PhD, Anatomy , Molecular, Cellular and Integrative Neurosciences, Colorado State University (1999)
  • MS, Anatomy , Program in Neuronal Growth and Development, Colorado State University (1998)
  • BS, Microbiology , Minor in Japanese, Brigham Young University (1993)

Honors and Awards

  • College Distinguished Service Faculty Award, College of Life Sciences, Brigham Young University (2021 - 2021)
  • Joseph Rowberry Teaching and Learning Faculty Fellowship, Brigham Young University (2015 - 2015)
  • Karl G. Maeser Professional Faculty Excellence Award, Brigham Young University (2014 - 2014)
  • Distinguished Faculty Award, Department of Physiology & Developmental Biology, Brigham Young University (2013 - 2013)
  • Faculty Recognition Award, Accessibility Center, Brigham Young University (2010 - 2010)
  • Continuing Faculty Status, Brigham Young University (2009 - 2009)
  • College Teaching Excellence Award, College of Biology and Agriculture, Brigham Young University (2005 - 2005)
  • Tenured Biology Instructor, Yakima Valley Community College (2002 - 2002)

Administrative Assignments

  • Neuroscience Center: Director (2010 - 2015)


  • Human Anatomy and Physiology Society (2005 - Present)
  • Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience (2004 - Present)
  • The Society for Neuroscience (2004 - Present)
  • BYU Neuroscience Center (2003 - Present)

Courses Taught


Michael D Brown Michael D Brown M Fingerman Michael D Brown B. J. Cornejo T. B. Kuhn J. R. Bamburg T. B. Kuhn P. J. Meberg Michael D Brown B. W. Bernstein L. S. Minamide J. R. Jensen K. Okada E. A. Soda J. R. Bamburg Michael D Brown T. B. Kuhn J. R. Bamburg T. B. Kuhn Michael D Brown C. L. Wilcox J. A. Raper J. R. Bamburg Michael D Brown J R Bamburg Michael D Brown B. J. Cornejo J. R. Bamburg T. B. Kuhn Michael D Brown J. R. Bamburg Michael D Brown J. R. Bamburg H. Abe T. A. Verrastro M. D. Brown L. S. Minamide W. S. Caddoo B. J. Agnew T. Obinata J. R. Bamburg
Mike Brown