Skip to main content

Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Brad Berges

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-8112
Room: 3136 LSB
brad.berges@gmail.com

Emphasis: Viral Infections and Immunity

Pre-requisites: Interview

Don Breakwell

December 06, 2019
Phone: 801-422-2378
Room: 2060 LSB
don_breakwell@byu.edu

Emphasis: Microbiology Education and Bacteriophage Genomics

Pre-requisites: MMBio 121; Interview; Preferred Phage Hunters (MMBio 194 & 195)

Mary Davis

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-6207
Room: 3129 LSB
mary_davis@byu.edu

Emphasis: Statistical Genetics and Biomedical Informatics Lab. Harness the power of electronic medical records (EMR) for investigating the genetic causes of complex human diseases, namely multiple sclerosis and autoimmune disease.

Pre-requisites: Current unoffical transcript, CV or resume, description of educational interests and goals. Completion of at least two of the following: STAT 121, MMBio 121, CS 235, PWS 340, MMBio 240, Bio 165, MMBio 463, Bio 463

David Erickson

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-1981
Room: 3133 LSB
david_erickson@byu.edu

Emphasis: Molecular interactions between bacteria and their hosts

Pre-requisites: MMBio 151; interview

R Paul Evans Jr

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-3259
Room: 3139 LSB
evansp@byu.edu

Emphasis: Molecular Biology

Pre-requisites: None Listed

Joel Griffitts

Phone: 801-422-7997
Room: 3131 LSB
joelg@byu.edu
https://lifesciences.byu.edu/advisement/mentored-research/microbiology-and-molecular-biology

Emphasis: Tool development for biotechnology, novel peptide biosynthesis, bacterial functional genomics, bacterial stress responses

Pre-requisites: MMBio 240

Julianne Grose

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-4940
Room: 3140 LSB
julianne_grose@byu.edu

Emphasis: Regulation of Central Metabolism with Emphasis on Microbiome Manipulation through Bacteriophage Therapy and Probiotics


Pre-requisites: Interview

Sandra Hope

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-1310
Room: 3134 LSB
sandra_hope@byu.edu

Emphasis: Flow Cytometry research applications.

Pre-requisites: MMBio 241, letter of interest with resume’ and permission to view grades, and interview.

Steve Johnson

December 13, 2019
Phone: 801-422-9170
Room: 3132 LSB
stevenj@byu.edu

Emphasis: Nucleosomes; Gene Regulation; Chromatin; Epigenetics

Pre-requisites: MMBio 240; interview

Bill McCleary

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-6215
Room: 3128 LSB
Bill_McCleary@byu.edu

Emphasis: Molecular Mechanisms of Prokaryotic Signal Transduction

Pre-requisites: Interview

Brent Nielsen

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-1102
Room: 3130 LSB
brentnielsen@byu.edu

Emphasis: Plant Molecular Biology; Use of Native Salt-Tolerant Bacteria to Enhance Growth of Crop Plants in Salty Soil; Gene Expression of Halophytes (Salt-Tolerant Plants); Organelle DNA Replication and recombination


Pre-requisites: Chem 105, 106, 107; MMBio 240, 241; interview

Kim O'Neill

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-2449
Room: 3142 LSB
Kim_ONeill@byu.edu

Emphasis: Cancer Research; Immunology

Pre-requisites: MMBio 240, 241

Brett Pickett

April 16, 2020
Phone: 801-422-2506
Room: 3141 LSB
brett_pickett@byu.edu

Emphasis: RNA-sequencing, transcriptomic analysis, comparative genomics of pathogens, signaling pathway enrichment, statistical analysis, data mining, data science, machine learning, computational biology, genome assembly, genome annotation

Pre-requisites: basic biology and molecular biology (MMBIO 240)

Brian Poole

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-8092
Room: 3138 LSB
brian_poole@byu.edu

Emphasis: Molecular Mechanisms of Genetic Risk for Autoimmunity; Vaccine Hesitancy

Pre-requisites: Interview

Rich Robison

Phone: 801-422-2416
Room: 3131 LSB
Richard_Robison@byu.edu

Emphasis: Molecular pathogenesis and host immune responses to infection; Molecular diagnostics; Disinfection and infection control

Pre-requisites: Chem 105, 106, 107; MMBio 151 or MMBio 222; Interview

Scott Weber

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-6259
Room: 3137 LSB
scott_weber@byu.edu

Emphasis: Immunity to Infectious Disease; Molecular Immunology

Pre-requisites: MMBio 240; interview

Eric Wilson

July 15, 2019
Phone: 801-422-4138
Room: 3135 LSB
ericwilson@byu.edu

Emphasis: Immunology

Pre-requisites: Chem 105, 106; MMBio 240; interview. Minimum one year commitment